Award Shows, Events
Jan 18, 2016


Last night the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) announced the winners of the 21st Annual Critics’ Choice Awards. The results are a bit scattered but proof of the level of creativity that came out in both film and television last year.

Critical darling Spotlight received not only the award for Best Picture of the Year but also Best Original Screenplay and Best Ensemble. The second two are hard to argue but Spotlight, as good as it was, did not deserve best picture. It was a solid and moving film but one that played it so close to the vest that it could almost be viewed as boring. The acting is solid and the story is well worth telling but the final product is so dry it could have just as easily showed up on HBO without any change in formatting.

Though many tried, just a few walked away with the Critics Choice Award.

Though many tried, just a few walked away with the Critics Choice Award.

Thankfully the night proved the critics of the world still love a good chase and lots of explosions because Mad Max: Fury Road ruled the night with a total of nine wins including: Best Director for George Miller, Best Production Design for Colin Gibson, Best Editing for Margaret Sixel, Best Costume Design for Jenny Beavan, Best Hair and Makeup, Best Visual Effects, Best Action Movie, Tom Hardy for Best Actor in an Action Movie, and Charlize Theron for Best Actress in an Action Movie.

Mad Max: Fury Road changed the entire landscape of cinema when it was released this summer and became an instant classic. It is nice to see the critics acknowledging the impact that it had on not just cinema but pop culture in general. Stylistically the film couldn’t be further away from Spotlight, the big winner of the night, but they seem to balance each other out.

On the television side of things Fargo was the critical darling of the night. The show as nominated for eight awards, the most of any series, and took home four awards including Best Made for Television or Limited Series. Mr. Robot followed on its heels with three wins including Best Drama Series. In the comedy genre Master of None won Best Comedy Series.

Once again network shows are being left in the dust by cable and on demand networks. The creative freedom allowed by both outlets has totally changed the face of television and, if last night’s awards are any indication, will continue to well into the future.

Amy Schumer received the “Critics’ Choice MVP Award” celebrating her acclaimed work on both television and film, which was presented to the actress, writer and producer by Judd Apatow. J.J. Abrams presented the “Critics’ Choice Genius Award” to Industrial Light & Magic (ILM), which was recognized for its 40 years of revolutionizing filmmaking.