Jun 10, 2024

Los Angeles Greek Film Festival Closes with Orpheus Awards

Several hundred guests attended Closing Night of the 18th Los Angeles Greek Film Festival on June 9 at Silver Screen Theatre, Pacific Design Center.

The critically acclaimed MURDERESS (FONISSA), starring Karyofyllia Karabeti and directed by Eva Nathena, was featured and included a live dialogue with the film’s star and director. The screening was preceded by a lively red carpet hosted by influencer Becca Brazil and followed by the Orpheus Awards. 

Caption (L to R) Dimitra Kasdagli, Eva Nathena, Honoree Karyofyllia Karabeti, Festival Co-Founder Ersi Danou, Festival Director Aristotle Katopodis.  Photo credit: Vanessa Skopeo (@HeartSparkStudios) via Melinda Manos PR

The Orpheus Awards hosted by Arianna Papalexopoulos honored renowned Greek actress Karyofyllia  Karabeti with the 2024 Orpheus Award. Awards Presenters included Angelo Hatgistavrou: Best  Animation, Maria Korinthiou: Best Short Film, Jaswant Shrestha: Best Documentary, Eliza Gerontakis:  Honoree Award, Elena Evangelo: Best Performance + Best Director, Marie Avgeropoulos: Best Film. 

The Closing Night reception and party were presented by The Kolovos Family, appetizers and catering by NICK THE GREEK, wines by AVRA, VIP Room catering by Petros, Cocktails from Kleos Mastiha, Dulce Vida Tequila, and Empress Gin, Water from Smart Water, soft drinks and cookies by Optima Foods and VIP gift bags from Chrysofora olive oil and Hellenic Aesthetic.

For a full list of Orpheus Award winners, visit

Group Photo (L to R) Alex Kalognomos, Ersi Danou, Lia Bozonelis, Angelo Hatzistavrou, Marie Avgeropoulos, Elena Evangelo, Alexi Papalexopoulos, Eliza Gerontakis, Maria Korinthiou, Eva Nathena, Festival Director Aristotle Katopodis, Honoree Karyofyllia Karabeti, Ariana Papalexopoulos, Dimitra Kasdagli, Samuel J. Paul, Michael Selditch, Tommy Savas, Constantine Tripodes.  
Photo credit: Vanessa Skopeo (@HeartSparkStudios) via Melinda Manos PR

LAGFF 2024 showcased 80+ films over 9 days in theatres and one week online (June 9-16), including feature films, shorts, documentaries, animation, and retrospectives, highlighting the depth of the Greek Film Industry today. The on-line portion of the Festival (June 9-16) offers virtual screenings and events on the LAGFF platform powered by Eventive and presented by the GREEK NATIONAL TOURISM ORGANIZATION. On June 13, a Distribution Agreements Webinar with Entertainment Attorney Carol T. Contes and Freestyle Digital Media’s Head of Digital Film Distribution Bill Vergos is geared toward independent filmmakers. This year’s jury panelists included: Spiro Skentzos, Colin Campbell, Andrew Wagner, Jaswant Shrestha, María Elena de las Carreras, Eugene Brancolini, Cheng Guo, Portlynn Tagavi, Chris Tsirgiotis, Hugh O’Gorman, Lisa Ogdie, and Jourdain Searles.