Award Shows
Jul 27, 2022

MTV reveals nominations for 2022 “Video Music Awards”

The MTV Video Music Awards more commonly known as the VMA’s are almost here, and nominees are out!

Jeff Kravitz/MTV VMAs 2021/Getty Images

MTV has unveiled the highly-anticipated nominations for the 2022 “VMAs,” featuring artists whose cultural impact and work over the past year have transformed the music industry and created global conversations. Jack Harlow, Kendrick Lamar and Lil Nas X (7 each) lead this year’s nominations, closely followed by Doja Cat and Harry Styles (6 each), and Billie Eilish, Drake, Dua Lipa, Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift and The Weeknd (5 each). This year’s show will be will be held on Aug. 28 at the Prudential Center in New Jersey.

Beginning today, fans can vote for their favorites across 22 gender-neutral categories, including “Video of the Year,” “Artist of the Year,” “Best Collaboration” and two all-new categories “Best Longform Video” and “Best Metaverse Performance,” by visiting through Friday, August 19, 2022 – thanks to Burger King®, the presenter of this year’s award voting. Voting for “Best New Artist,” presented by EXTRA Gum, will remain active into the show on Sunday, August, 28, 2022. Nominations for social categories including “Group of the Year” and “Song of Summer” will be announced at a later date.

Nominations 2022

VIDEO OF THE YEAR, Presented by Burger King  

Doja Cat – “Woman” – Kemosabe Records / RCA Records

Drake ft. Future & Young Thug – “Way 2 Sexy” – OVO/Republic

Ed Sheeran – “Shivers” – Atlantic Records

Harry Styles – “As It Was“ – Columbia Records

Lil Nas X, Jack Harlow – “INDUSTRY BABY” – Columbia Records

Olivia Rodrigo – “brutal” – Geffen Records

Taylor Swift – “All Too Well” (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version) – Republic Records 


Bad Bunny – Rimas Entertainment

Drake – OVO/Republic

Ed Sheeran – Atlantic Records

Harry Styles – Columbia Records

Jack Harlow – Generation Now / Atlantic Records 

Lil Nas X – Columbia Records

Lizzo – Atlantic Records 


Adele – “Easy On Me” – Columbia Records

Billie Eilish – “Happier Than Ever” – Darkroom / Interscope Records

Doja Cat – “Woman” – Kemosabe Records / RCA Records

Elton John & Dua Lipa – “Cold Heart (PNAU Remix)” – EMI / Interscope Records 

Lizzo – “About Damn Time” – Atlantic Records 

The Kid LAROI & Justin Bieber – “STAY” – Columbia Records


Baby Keem – Columbia Records

Dove Cameron – Disruptor Records / Columbia Records 

GAYLE – Atlantic Records / Arthouse Records

Latto – Streamcut / RCA Records

Måneskin – Arista Records

SEVENTEEN – PLEDIS Entertainment/Geffen Records


Billie Eilish – “Happier Than Ever” – Darkroom / Interscope Records 

Doja Cat – “Woman” – Kemosabe Records / RCA Records

Ed Sheeran – “Shivers” – Atlantic Records

Harry Styles – “As It Was” – Columbia Records

Lizzo – “About Damn Time” – Atlantic Records

Olivia Rodrigo – “traitor” – Geffen Records 


Eminem & Snoop Dogg – “From The D 2 The LBC” – Shady / Aftermath / Interscope Records 

Future ft. Drake, Tems – “WAIT FOR U” – Freebandz / Epic Records

Kendrick Lamar – “N95” – pgLang / Top Dawg Entertainment / Aftermath / Interscope Records 

Latto – “Big Energy” – Streamcut / RCA Records

Nicki Minaj ft. Lil Baby – “Do We Have A Problem?” – Young Money / Cash Money / Republic Records

Pusha T – “Diet Coke” – G.O.O.D. Music / Def Jam 


Foo Fighters – “Love Dies Young” – RCA Records

Jack White – “Taking Me Back” – Third Man Records

Muse – “Won’t Stand Down” – Warner Records

Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Black Summer” – Warner Records 

Shinedown – “Planet Zero” – Elektra Music Group

Three Days Grace – “So Called Life” – RCA Records 


Anitta – “Envolver” – Warner Records

Bad Bunny – “Tití Me Preguntó” – Rimas Entertainment

Becky G X KAROL G – “MAMIII” – Kemosabe Records / Sony Music Latin / RCA Records 

Daddy Yankee – “REMIX” – Republic Records

Farruko – “Pepas” – Sony Music US Latin

J Balvin & Skrillex – “In Da Getto” – Sueños Globales, LLC /Universal Music Latino / Asylum Records UK 

You can see the full list of nominees on