Dec 5, 2012


Nominations for the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards were announced tonight and reflected a mix of the best and brightest in music over the past year, namely men! The nominees were determined by the voting members of The Recording Academy and announced as part of The GRAMMY Nominations Concert Live!!- Countdown To Music’s Biggest Night, a one-hour CBS broadcast that took place in Nashville. Among the nominees were Frank Ocean, Kany West, Jay-Z and more!

Dan Auerbach (The Black Keys), FUN., Jay-Z, Mumford & Sons, Frank Ocean, and Kanye West topped the nominations with six each; The Black Keys, Chick Corea, and Miguel each garnered five nods; and producer Jeff Bhasker, mastering engineer Bob Ludwig and Nas each earned four awards nominations.

The GRAMMY Nominations Concert Live!! was hosted by two-time GRAMMY winner LL COOL J and six-time GRAMMY winner Taylor Swift. The evening featured the announcement of nominations in several categories as well as performances by The Band Perry and Dierks Bentley in a special tribute to Johnny Cash; country artist Luke Bryan; pop/rock group FUN. with singer/songwriter Janelle Monáe; country artist Hunter Hayes; three-time GRAMMY-winning group Maroon 5; three-time GRAMMY winner Ne-Yo; and Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award recipients The Who. Presenters included nine-time GRAMMY winner Sheryl Crow, country group Little Big Town, Americana group The Lumineers, and country artist Chris Young.

Here are a few of the most coveted categories:

Album Of The Year
El Camino — The Black Keys
Some Nights — FUN.
Babel — Mumford & Sons
Channel Orange — Frank Ocean
Blunderbuss — Jack White

Record Of The Year
“Lonely Boy” — The Black Keys
“Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)” — Kelly Clarkson
“We Are Young” — FUN. Featuring Janelle Monáe
“Somebody That I Used To Know” — Gotye Featuring Kimbra
“Thinkin Bout You” — Frank Ocean
“We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” — Taylor Swift

Best New Artist
Alabama Shakes
Hunter Hayes
The Lumineers
Frank Ocean

Song Of The Year
“The A Team” — Ed Sheeran, songwriter (Ed Sheeran)
“Adorn” — Miguel Pimentel, songwriter (Miguel)
“Call Me Maybe” — Tavish Crowe, Carly Rae Jepsen & Josh Ramsay, songwriters (Carly Rae Jepsen)
“Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)” — Jörgen Elofsson, David Gamson, Greg Kurstin & Ali Tamposi,
songwriters (Kelly Clarkson)
“We Are Young” — Jack Antonoff, Jeff Bhasker, Andrew Dost & Nate Ruess, songwriters (FUN. Featuring
Janelle Monáe)

For a full list of nominees please visit and for updates follow The Recording Academy on Twitter andFacebook

The 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards will be held on “GRAMMY Sunday,” Feb. 10, 2013, at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles and broadcast live on CBS from 8 – 11:30 p.m. (ET/PT).