Festivals, News
Jan 19, 2023


The 38th Santa Barbara Film Festival opens with the world premiere of MIRANDA’S VICTIM and closes with the U.S. premiere OF I LIKE MOVIES.


The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) announced today the highly anticipated lineup for the 38th edition, which will run February 8 to 18, 2023. The festival will showcase 52 world premieres and 78 U.S. premieres from 43 countries, along with tributes featuring the year’s top talent, panel discussions, as well as free community education and outreach programs.

SBIFF’s Executive Director Roger Durling stated this morning, “At a time where there’s a dwindling of movie theater attendance, the role of film festivals has never been more important. At SBIFF, with the 38th edition, our marching orders are clear, to celebrate movies and to nurture and exalt the film community, the artists as well as the cinephiles. It’s a great slate with 43 countries represented.”


SBIFF 2023 will kick off  on Opening Night Wednesday, February 8 with the WORLD Premiere of MIRANDA’S VICTIM. Directed by Michelle Danner and starring Abigail Breslin, Ryan Phillippe, Luke Wilson, Donald Sutherland, Mireille Enos and Andy Garcia.

It’s 1963 when eighteen-year-old Patricia “Trish” Weir is kidnapped and brutally raped at knife-point. Committed to putting Ernesto Miranda in prison, Trish’s life is destroyed by America’s legal system as she triggers a law that transforms the nation.


SBIFF 2023 will close on Saturday, February 18 with the US Premiere of I LIKE MOVIES. Directed by Chandler Levack and starring Isaiah Lehtinen, Romina D’Ugo, Krista Bridges, Percy Hynes White.

Lawrence, a socially inept, 17-year-old cinephile, gets a job at a video store, where he forms a complicated friendship with his older female manager.

SBIFF is an important showcase for Academy Award frontrunners, many of whom have arrived as nominees and gone on to win the Oscar. The 38th SBIFF proudly celebrates some of the year’s finest work in film. All tributes will be in person at the historic Arlington Theatre.

  • Montecito Award honoring Angela Bassett – Thursday, February 9 at 8:00pm. Moderated by Roger Durling.
  • Outstanding Performer of the Year Award presented by Manitou Fund honoring Cate Blanchett– Friday, February 10 at 8:00pm. Moderated by Scott Feinberg.
  • Maltin Modern Master Award honoring Jamie Lee Curtis – Saturday, February 11 at 8:00pm. Moderated by Leonard Maltin.
  • Variety Artisans Award sponsored by Variety – Monday, February 13 at 8:00pm. Honorees to be announced. Moderated by Jazz Tangcay. 
  • American Riviera Award sponsored by Deadline honoring Brendan Fraser – Tuesday, February 14 at 8:00pm. Moderated by Pete Hammond.
  • Virtuosos Award honoring Austin Butler (Elvis), Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin), Danielle Deadwyler (Till), Nina Hoss (Tár), Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All At Once), Jeremy Pope (The Inspection), Ke Huy Quan (Everything Everywhere All At Once), and Jeremy Strong (Armageddon Time) – Wednesday, February 16 at 8:00pm. Moderated by Dave Karger.
  • Cinema Vanguard Award honoring Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson – Thursday, February 16 at 8:00pm. Moderated by Dave Karger
  • Outstanding Directors of the Year Award sponsored by The Hollywood Reporter – Friday, February 17 at 8:00pm. Honorees to be announced. Moderated by Scott Feinberg.


 SBIFF has become renowned for creating smart, insightful panels that feature a who’s who in the world of filmmaking, including many Oscar contenders. Returning will be our annual Producers Panel, Writers Panel, and Women’s Panel and introducing the NEW International Directors Panel. All Panels will be in person at the historic Arlington Theatre. Panelists to be announced.

  •  Writers Panel – Saturday, February 11 at 11:00am – Moderated by Anne Thompson
  • Women’s Panel – Saturday, February 11 at 2:00pm – Moderated by Claudia Puig
  • Producers Panel – Sunday, February 12 at 11:00am – Moderated by Glenn Whipp
  • International Directors Panel – Sunday, February 12 at 7:00pm – Moderated by Roger Durling *FREE Admission