Award Shows
Jan 4, 2018

WGA Releases 2018 Screenplay Award Nominations

The Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in screenwriting during 2017. Winners will be honored at the 2018 Writers Guild Awards on Sunday, February 11, at concurrent ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.




The Big Sick, Written by Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani; Amazon Studios


Get Out, Written by Jordan Peele; Universal Pictures


I, Tonya, Written by Steven Rogers; Neon


Lady Bird, Written by Greta Gerwig; A24


The Shape of Water, Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; Story by Guillermo del Toro; Fox Searchlight




Call Me by Your Name, Screenplay by James Ivory; Based on the Novel by André Aciman; Sony Pictures Classics


The Disaster Artist, Screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber; Based on the Book The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside the Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell; A24


Logan, Screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; Story by James Mangold; Based on Characters from the X-Men Comic Books and Theatrical Motion Pictures; Twentieth Century Fox Film


Molly’s Game, Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the Book by Molly Bloom; STX Entertainment


Mudbound, Screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees; Based on the Novel by Hillary Jordan; Netflix




Betting on Zero, Written by Theodore Braun; Gunpowder & Sky


Jane, Written by Brett Morgen; National Geographic


No Stone Unturned, Written by Alex Gibney; Abramorama


Oklahoma City, Written by Barak Goodman; American Experience Films